UW-Fox Valley Logo

Phi Theta Kappa

[This page is preserved for historical and reference purposes only.  The information contained on it may no longer be current.]

UW-Fox Valley Inducts 11 into Phi Theta Kappa, International Honor Society of the Two Year Colleges

The University of Wisconsin-Fox Valley had the annual Phi Theta Kappa induction ceremony for 11 of its best and brightest students on Monday, April 16. The ceremony took place in front of faculty, students and family members gathered together to help congratulate the students for their distinguished accomplishment.

"Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of the two year colleges," according to UWFox's campus chapter faculty advisor, Kimberly Dirlam-Schatz, Ph.D. (Assistant Professor of Chemistry). "Phi Theta Kappa membership is based on academic achievement. In order to qualify, students must be enrolled in an accredited institution offering an associate degree program, must complete 12 hours of coursework, leading to an associate degree, must have a 3.5 cumulative grade point average, and must have full rights of citizenry."

Students (current residence in parenthesis) who were inducted into the Alpha Theta Tau chapter at UW-Fox, include:

  • Alishia F. Albert (Freedom);
  • James N. Arbogash (Appleton);
  • Stacy A. Bogan (Appleton);
  • Bryan E Bohm (Kaukauna);
  • Michael P. Ceman (Menasha);
  • Patricia M. Endter (Appleton);
  • Katie A. Hemauer (Stockbridge);
  • Dixie L. Hill (Appleton);
  • Stephanie M. Hintz (Appleton);
  • Kelley J. Johnson (New London);
  • Mark G. Peterson (Appleton).
Students receive honors

Prior to the inductees taking the Phi Theta Kappa oath, Darren DeFrain, Ph.D. (Assistant Professor of English) of the UWFox faculty addressed the audience. Dirlam-Schatz administered the oath to the inductees. Jim Perry, Ph.D. (Campus Dean / CEO) offered concluding remarks to end the ceremony.

Posted 4/18/2001