UW-Fox Valley Logo

Student Spotlight

Mark Hawbaker

Alexandra Schultz

“As I started attending classes at UWFox, the campus community opened up to me, and I found its amazing music and theatre departments.”

Age: 21

Hometown: Appleton, WI

Current residence: Appleton, WI

When attended UWFox: Fall 2009 to present

Background before UWFox

I graduated from Xavier High School in May 2009.  During high school I worked as summer custodial help while the new building was being built. The summer after high school I worked for Vector Marketing selling Cutco knives, and my family has several Cutco items we use on a daily basis. During my junior year of high school our band/choir trip was to San Francisco.  Periodically I’ve been to visit my aunt/godmother in Raleigh, NC.

Why did you choose UWFox?

At first it was just locally convenient, less expensive, and easier to set myself up as a student. As I started attending classes at UWFox, the campus community opened up to me, and I found its amazing music and theatre departments. The community being involved at the small campus has a huge impact on those departments, and it’s so fun.

Have you chosen a major?

Music literature with an emphasis in composition, and Theatre Tech.

What are you learning that you find interesting and rewarding at UWFox?

There are so many ways for an individual to express himself or herself, from the way they dress, to music the play or listen to, to what they’re involved in, to how diligently they work themselves in whichever field they choose.

What are your career plans after UWFox?

I will be transferring to UW-Stevens Point.  After graduating with my bachelor’s degree, I’m not sure what I will do. It’ll depend largely on what opportunities I find at UWSP. I will always compose new music, and get involved in theatre tech crews, which in themselves can be jobs. I have an artist friend whom I’ve known since childhood, in one of his last semesters at the Minneapolis College of Art & Design. He wants us to pool our resources together and travel the world, particularly South America and Europe, with me adding Australia. I call it “two artists abroad.”

Other interesting things about yourself that you’d like to share?

I made my dad work with me on starting a home garden last summer, since we live out in the country.  It led me to find a job at Stein’s, from which I got an indoor herb garden going. That has recently become my biggest hobby, and this summer we’ll have a much larger garden, even with pumpkins, acorn squash, and maybe strawberries.  Wonderful opportunities await, because my dad can cook quite well, though it’s me with the baking skills.

More Spotlight Stories