UW-Fox Valley Logo

Student Spotlight

Kou Lee

Kou Lee

“While attending UWFox, I also worked (and still do) at the Weis Earth Science Museum. I learned more about geology and earth science here than anywhere else!”

Age: 19

Hometown: Thailand

Current residence: Menasha, WI

When attended UWFox: Fall 2008-Spring 2010

Background before UWFox:

Since I was very young my parents moved from state to state and from city to city many times. Things in my life weren’t quite settled until we moved to Menasha where the economy was more stable. I started at Menasha HS in 2004 and graduated in 2008 with High Honors.  It was the only school where I started and finished without transferring out of or into, which I found really helpful.

During the two summers of my sophomore and junior years in high school, I volunteered at Heckrodt Wetland Reserve and earned over 250 hours of community service.  I was later hired by a contractor who was working at Heckrodt while I spent those two summers volunteering there.

Why did you choose UWFox?

One of the biggest factors was that my parents informed me that staying close to home for family support was important to them. The cost of tuition is less expensive at UWFox too, making it a win-win situation. Moreover, I wasn’t sure yet what I wanted to do in my life.

Have you chosen a major?

I’m still undecided, but thinking about majoring in accounting.  Accounting was the one subject that I was good at during high school. As of right now I’m still getting the taste of it and seeing if I want to pursue it or not as a major.

What are you learning that you find interesting and rewarding at UWFox?

I really like the office hours that I can visit my professors because I figure there aren’t lines where I have to wait to talk to them. Also, I really like the campus clubs as well. I like the fact that everyone who joins a club has a chance to run for office in the club. It encourages new members to join and boosts morale among the membership. For example, I’m the President of the campus’ Universal Multi-Cultural Association (UMA). It was one of the reasons that I met many of my present friends and got introduced to many of the faculty and staff here at UWFox.

What are your career plans after UWFox?

After I earn my Associate Degree I plan to transfer to UW-Oshkosh to earn my Bachelor’s Degree.

Other interesting things you’d like to share?

I’m the oldest of eight kids in my family and I’m first one to attend college. I’m proud of that and I’m hopeful that my younger siblings will follow behind me and attend college as well. As far as education is concerned, I love being the oldest in my family because I get to explore new heights, go beyond the family boundaries, set standards for the younglings to surpass and set new ones for the entire family.

 

More Spotlight Stories