UW-Fox Valley Logo

Student Spotlight

Ge Lee

Ge Lee

"One of the greatest things I have learned at UWFox is that being able to balance time and school work is very important."

Age: 22

Hometown: Appleton, WI

Current residence: Oshkosh, WI

When attended UWFox: Fall 2007 to Fall 2010

Background before UWFox:

“After I graduated from Appleton West High School in 2005 I was a lab technician at Lens Crafters where I made eyewear lenses from scratch.  I would run them on machines, and cut them down to fit into the frames.”

Why did you choose UWFox?

“One of the reasons why I chose UWFox is because it is close to home and it is very affordable.  I also like the small class room sizes at the campus.  This gives me an opportunity to have one-on-one conversations with professors if I need help.”

Have you chosen a major?

“I’m a Criminal Justice major.”

What are you learning that you find interesting and rewarding at UWFox?

“One of the greatest things I have learned at UWFox is that being able to balance time and school work is very important.  Before, when I was in high school, I did not know how to balance school work with my social life.  Upon arriving at UWFox, I took a class that showed me how to balance my time wisely and not go down the wrong path.  UWFox has taught me many things to help me prepare for my future.  Just not taking classes, but the environment itself is very helpful.”

What are your career plans after UWFox?

“After UWFox, I plan to transfer to UW-Oshkosh.  There I will pursue my Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice.  After this semester I am planning to graduate from UWFox with my Associate of Arts and Science Degree.  With the great education and experience I have encountered at UWFox, I am sure I will do great at a four year Wisconsin college.”

Other interesting things you’d like to share about yourself or your experiences at UWFox?

I’m currently a member of the campus’ Universal Multicultural Association and I was formally the president of the club as well. I’m married and the father of a one and a half year old son. I love to play soccer, have been doing so ever since I was 11. I also like to volunteer to help high school students decide what they want to do after they graduate.  Being able to help someone who doesn’t know which education path to take is a great feeling and I would not trade anything in the world for it.”

More Spotlight Stories